Back to life. Back to reality.

It’s always a strange feeling coming back home.  A family member picked us up and we all went for coffee at the in-laws house.  This is always a bit hard for me since usually I need to sleep, eat, shower, or use the bathroom (not in a social way either), etc… Therefore being a polite well-mannered guest is a feat to pull off when so many things are going on inside my body at once!  Coffee can help or hinder in this scenario.  I will let you figure out that one if you haven’t already from previous lines.  Finally the moment comes when I open the door to our home.  Everything seems strange for a moment.  Almost like I’m entering this world for the first time even though I intimately know every detail of the place.  There is a fog-like aura hanging thick in the room that can’t be seen only felt.  First thing to do is open every window to get rid of it.  Then review each room with a quick scan.  We always have someone stay at our home when taking such long vacations.  Of course, there are effects here and there of their own personal touches of where things belong or food items left.  After a few moments of rearranging, I realize that soon the reality of daily living will begin again.

I suppose this is true for anyone who has taken an incredible trip and got the relaxation they needed.  But this trip took me back to my home country.  We vacationed at a location that I went to every summer as a child.   Now having a child of my own makes this extraordinarily difficult because I would like her to experience more from my childhood.  I suppose that is a normal feeling for all parents.  Around the time we start packing up everything I realize that at the end we will be saying goodbye to family.  Each and every time I think the same thought:  I don’t know when will be the next time I will see them.  It’s an awful feeling and it makes packing that much more stressful.  In the last two years I’ve been lucky to have a pretty consistent flow of visits with family; either here or there.  This is due to the fact that we’ve had many life changing events such as a wedding and the birth of our child.  Usually there is no pre-arranged visit. Except for our informal every other year Christmas vacation.  There are a lot of things that go through my head a day or two before we return home.  Things like, Wouldn’t it be nice to be able to come more often for a visit?  Maybe we could buy/rent a summer cottage to make it more of a regular thing?  If we were to move back to the States where would we move?  I sort through all the details of how to buy a summer cottage or find a job then I realize we are where we are supposed to be now.  Of course I will always dream of us moving there and I am sure one day we will.  But for now we are living here and I am happy with that.  I believe everyone goes through this type of process before returning to their new home country.  It’s a way to come down from the high of vacation.

Can you relate? Please share your story with us in the comments.

About Self-Love life coach

I moved to the Netherlands to be with my husband. After several years living here and getting through some struggles and obstacles, I decided I would help other expats work through these same things by becoming a life coach. I offered these services under the name of the Life Coach for Expats. Some time later I've taken a deeper look into where my coaching can be most effective. Now you can find me as Susan de Vriend, Self-love life coach at www.susandevriend.com. I am the coach who coaches with compassion to support Business Moms find their inner confidence & voice allowing a profound and joyful life to be created on purpose.

Leave a Reply

